--- title: "Sharing a View and Marking a View as Favorite" slug: "clone-sharing-a-view" description: "Share views with users and groups in Xyicon modules. Manage permission levels (Owner, Can Edit, Can View) and control sharing access as needed." updated: 2026-05-31T05:35:44Z published: 2026-05-31T05:35:44Z canonical: "support.xyicon.com/clone-sharing-a-view" --- > ## Documentation Index > Fetch the complete documentation index at: https://support.xyicon.com/llms.txt > Use this file to discover all available pages before exploring further. # Sharing a View and Marking a View as Favorite Xyicon Users Use this article to learn how to share your list views with other Xyicon users and groups, and how to mark an existing view as **Favorite**. Version 5Version 4 Switch to V5 to access this functionality. ## Before You Begin - Ensure you have already [created views](https://support.xyicon.com/v1/docs/en/78c8da1a-c0f0-4792-81ed-2d243cd2c679?isPreview=true&versionNumber=1). - Make sure the users and user groups you want to share your view with exist in Xyicon. **Users** and **User Groups** are managed by your organization's **Xyicon Administrator**. - Ensure you have the necessary permissions to share views. Permissions are managed by your organization’s **Xyicon Administrator**. ## Sharing a View ### Option 1: Share a View with Users and User Groups 1. From the **Workspace Navigation Panel,** click on the **Views** button. 2. Go to the desired view that you want to share. Click on the **More** (![](https://cdn.document360.io/d689d9b5-af1b-4ba8-a27d-d8cad72c9618/Images/Documentation/more%20tools%20-%20objects.svg)) icon next to the view and click **Share**. 3. On the **Share View** modal, search and select the relevant **Users** or **User Groups**. 4. Select the necessary permission level from the dropdown next to the search. - **Can Edit** - **Can View** 5. Click **Share** to apply. ![](https://cdn.document360.io/d689d9b5-af1b-4ba8-a27d-d8cad72c9618/Images/Documentation/image-1764140589413.png) > [!NOTE] > **TIP:** You can share any view that you own or have edit permissions for. ### Option 2: Share a View with the Whole Organization - Global Sharing 1. From the **Navigation Panel,** click on the **Views** icon. 2. Go to the desired view that you want to share. Click on the **More** (![](https://cdn.document360.io/d689d9b5-af1b-4ba8-a27d-d8cad72c9618/Images/Documentation/more%20tools%20-%20objects.svg)) icon next to the view. 3. Select **Mark as Global View** and click **Confirm** in the pop-up to apply. Only **Xyicon Administrators** who are owners or **Xyicon Administrators** with edit permissions on a shared view can mark the view as global. ![](https://cdn.document360.io/d689d9b5-af1b-4ba8-a27d-d8cad72c9618/Images/Documentation/image-1764140770224.png) > [!NOTE] > **NOTE:** Once a view is marked as a **Global View**, it will be shared with all users in the Xyicon Organization. ## Stop Sharing or Change Permission 1. From the **Navigation Panel**, click on the **Views** icon. 2. Select a view that is shared with a **User** or a **User Group**. Click on the **More** (![](https://cdn.document360.io/d689d9b5-af1b-4ba8-a27d-d8cad72c9618/Images/Documentation/more%20tools%20-%20objects.svg)) icon next to the view and click **Share**. 3. On the **Share View** modal, it shows the **Users** and **User Groups** who have access to the view. - To stop sharing: Select the relevant **User** or the **User Group**, and click the **Unshare** button. Click **Delete** on the pop-up. - To change permission: Click the permission level the user or user group currently has, then select the relevant permission level from the dropdown. ## Marking a View as Favorite 1. From the **Navigation Panel,** click on the **Views** icon. 2. Go to the desired view that you want to share. Click on the **More** (![](https://cdn.document360.io/d689d9b5-af1b-4ba8-a27d-d8cad72c9618/Images/Documentation/more%20tools%20-%20objects.svg)) icon next to the view. 3. Click **Mark as Favorite** to add the view to the **Favorites** section. ![](https://cdn.document360.io/d689d9b5-af1b-4ba8-a27d-d8cad72c9618/Images/Documentation/image-1764141039242.png) 4. After you add a view to your **Favorites,** it is listed under **Favorites** along with all the other views, and also separately in the **Favorites** section on the **Navigation Bar**. ![](https://cdn.document360.io/d689d9b5-af1b-4ba8-a27d-d8cad72c9618/Images/Documentation/image-1764141079106.png) 5. To remove a favorite, click the **More** icon (![](https://cdn.document360.io/d689d9b5-af1b-4ba8-a27d-d8cad72c9618/Images/Documentation/more%20tools%20-%20objects.svg)) next to the view and select **Remove Favorite**. ## Before You Begin - Make sure that the users and user groups with whom you want to share your view exist in Xyicon. **Users** and **User Groups** are managed by your organization's **Xyicon Administrator**. - Your **Xyicon User** has the necessary permissions to share views for the **PORTFOLIOS**, **SPACES**, **CATALOG**, **XYICONS**, **BOUNDARIES** modules, and the [**Space Editor**](/v1/docs/about-the-space-editor). The table below describes the available permission levels for a Xyicon view.
Permission LevelDescriptionList of Permissions
Owner ( )

This is the default permission level assigned to your user when you create a view. You can also receive this permission level if another user changes their view ownership to you.

This permission level is only applicable to users. Any user designated as the owner can perform all actions related to views.

  • Rename views
  • Change owner
  • Edit filters and layout of owned views
  • Clone views
  • Share views
  • Delete owned views
Can Edit ( )

This is the default permission level assigned to you when you change your view ownership to another user. You can assign this permission level to both users and user groups.

  • Rename views
  • Edit filters and layout of shared views
  • Clone views
  • Share views
Can View ( )

This is the default permission level assigned to all users and groups when a view is shared.

  • Clone view
  • Edit filters and layouts and save them to a new view
## Share View with Users and User Groups 1. Navigate to the **Space Editor** or open the desired module from the **Main Menu**. 2. Click the **View Selector** fields on the Views Bar of the Space Editor or module window. A dropdown will appear with a list of existing views (if any). 3. Hover over the view you want to share, click the **More Options** button, and click **Share.** The **Share View** panel will open. 4. Click the search box and start typing the person’s name or user group with whom you want to share this view. 5. Next, hover over the user or group in the dropdown list and click **Share** or click anywhere on the highlighted user/ user group. Repeat as required. 6. Finally, assign a permission level to each user and group in the list by clicking on the dropdown of the following **Permission Level** icon. To exit the **Share View** panel, click **Close.** ![](https://cdn.document360.io/d689d9b5-af1b-4ba8-a27d-d8cad72c9618/Images/Documentation/image-1692348005605.png) - **Owner -** Only applicable to users. - **Can Edit** - **Can View** ## Stop or Change Sharing 1. Navigate to the Space Editor or open the desired module from the Main Menu. 2. Click the View Selector fileds on the Views Bar of the Space Editor or module window. A dropdown will appear with a list of existing views (if any). 3. Hover over the view for which you want to change sharing, click the More Options button and click Share. The Share View panel will open. 4. To stop sharing the view with a user or a user group, hover over the user or user group name and click Remove. To change permissions, click the Permission Level icon next to the user or user group (which indicates the current assigned permission level) next to the user or user group, then in the dropdown that opens select the permission level you wish to assign to that user or user group. - **Can Edit** - **Can View** 5. To exit the **Share View** panel, click **Close.**